This Data Entry shortcut has two functions. It can clear the information in a cell or it can delete one character at a time.
If you press BACKSPACE all information (characters and formulas) in the cell selected will be deleted. If the selection contains more than one cell it’s still the first selected cell that will loose it’s information. To delete all information in a selection press DELETE button.
Delete characters in a cell
If you’re in editing mode (press F2 or doubleclick on a cell) one character at a time will be deleted. It is the first character left to the cursor that will be deleted first.